top of page

Love Languages in Kdramas

Updated: Dec 30, 2020

One of the appealing things in kdramas is watching the growing affection between the characters as they become more aware of each other and work to win the other’s affection.

Sometimes the journey is simple but at other times they seem to have trouble clicking. Perhaps that is because they don’t know the other’s love language.

Gary Chapman first put a list of 5 ways people express and experience love in his first book on the subject 25 years ago. He said, “Everyone experiences love differently, and it’s easy to miss the mark when it comes to showing that you care. With a little help from The 5 Love Languages®, you can learn to identify the root of your conflicts, give and receive love in more meaningful ways, and grow closer than ever.“

Now everyone likes to be loved and at times we would appreciate every one of these but usually there’s an area which we gravitate to. The ways to feel love included:

PHYSICAL TOUCH: sitting close, hand holding etc, those actions which are often considered “showing love”.

GIFTS: the giving and receiving gifts (not necessarily store bought but something that showed thought for the individual) also a common way love is portrayed.

QUALITY TIME: where you feel you have the attention of the other person. Doing things together (even mundane tasks) or just spending time together without distractions like phones.

WORDS OF AFFIRMATION: this one uses words to connect with and encourage others

ACTS OF SERVICE: where actions speak louder than words. Doing something for someone without being asked.

Swoon put together a video of these love languages in Kdramas. This is a pleasant reminder of ways to show love.

Not sure which is your strongest love language, take the quiz here.

181 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page